Archive | Raising Readers RSS feed for this section

10 Chapter Books for Dads to Read to Their Kids (+ Printable)

Strong father figures, adventures, humor, and general fun await! Recommended age ranges in parentheses reflect recommended listening level, but all are appropriate read alouds for a wide variety of ages. Print this list for future reference!  Lulu and the Duck in the Park by Hilary McKay. Funny adventures for animal lovers. (see our review) (ages 6-10) […]

Read full story · Comments { 10 }

*Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena and Christian Robinson

*Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena and Christian Robinson. G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers, 2015. 32 Pages. Reading Level: Picture Books, Ages 4-8 Recommended For: Ages 4-8 CJ and his Grandma leave church and board a bus in the rain, but they are not going home. A typical child, […]

Read full story · Comments { 0 }

Bible Review: Children’s Easy-to-Read Bible

Children’s Easy-to-Read Bible. Leafwood Publishers, 2012. 1820 pages Reading Level: Middle Grades, ages 8-10 Recommended for: ages 7-10 Bottom Line: The Children’s Easy-to-Read Bible is attractive and accessible to fourth-through-sixth-graders, but the translation has some drawbacks. This is the latest edition children’s Bible from the World Bible Translation Center, originally (and perhaps still) associated with […]

Read full story · Comments { 0 }

Six Picture Books for Boys Who Can’t Sit Still!

Here are six favorite, irresistible picture books for boys who are competitive,   WHO WILL WIN?! love superheroes, Both MARVELous and COMICal hate peas, She eats worms and mice with ease, but not those last ten little green peas!  dig holes, So close to finding something spectacular… (read review) and occasionally take baths “Dawg, nobody […]

Read full story · Comments { 2 }

The Dirty Cowboy by Amy Timberlake, illustrated by Adam Rex

*The Dirty Cowboy by Amy Timberlake, illustrated by Adam Rex. Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2003. 32 pages. Reading Level: Picture Books, ages 4-8 Recommended For: ages 4-8 (especially boys) This ol’ boy needs a bath! Four characteristics of an outstanding picture book read-aloud include: great story, excellent artwork, quotable lines, and a fun accent. The Dirty […]

Read full story · Comments { 0 }

Cinderella Radio Review: Listen Here!

Thanks to Megan Saben, Betsy Farquhar, Kristen Eicher (producer!) and my daughter, Rebecca, for making this review possible!  

Read full story · Comments { 0 }

This Thing Called Diversity

Book Expo America (BEA) is a big event in the publishing world—the biggest, in fact. It’s a hodgepodge of authors, industry professionals, book reviewers, and book bloggers, all chattering about the Latest Big Thing or the Next Big Thing. It’s so popular that last year the BEA coordinators announced an adjunct event to take place […]

Read full story · Comments { 1 }

Seeing the Gospel in Cinderella (Discussion Starters!)

Why Cinderella? —a joint post from Betsy, Hayley, and Megan We at Redeemed Reader love a good fairy tale. Cinderella is perhaps the quintessential fairy tale with its rags-to-riches princess, the fairy godmother, and fancy dresses. Indeed, the Cinderella story is one of the most ubiquitous stories worldwide, appearing in nearly every culture for centuries. The […]

Read full story · Comments { 0 }

Cinderella Read-Alikes for Boys and Girls of All Ages

Cinderella Read-Alikes for Boys and Girls of All Ages A few of our favorite picture books, chapter books, middle grade titles, young adult reads, and some specifically Christian resources that all relate to Cinderella. Not all are strict Cinderella retellings, but all have thematic connections to this famous fairy tale. Some titles may surprise you! […]

Read full story · Comments { 1 }

*Faerie Gold edited by Kathryn Lindskoog and Ranelda Mack Hunsicker

*Faerie Gold: Treasures from the Lands of Enchantment edited by Kathryn Lindskoog and Ranelda Mack Hunsicker. P&R, 2005. 304 pages. Reading Level: Middle Grades, ages 8-10, ages 10-12 Recommended For: all Bottom Line: An excellent collection of literary fairy tales by classic writers, tales that are rich with Truth and the best kind of storytelling. […]

Read full story · Comments { 1 }

Some Bugs by Angela DiTerlizzi, illustrated by Brendan Wenzel

*Some Bugs by Angela DiTerlizzi, illustrated by Brendan Wenzel. Beach Lane Books, 2014. 32 pages. Reading Level: Picture Books, ages 0-4 Some Bugs is a fun, concise, poetic description of some of the common and unique characteristics found in the insect world. Simple repetition and rhyme are effective in pointing out that Some bugs sting. Some […]

Read full story · Comments { 0 }