diversity

This Thing Called Diversity

Book Expo America (BEA) is a big event in the publishing world—the biggest, in fact. It’s a hodgepodge of authors, industry professionals, book reviewers, and book bloggers, all chattering about the Latest Big Thing or the Next Big Thing. It’s so popular that last year the BEA coordinators announced an adjunct event to take place 

Continue Reading…

cinderella rackham

Seeing the Gospel in Cinderella (Discussion Starters!)

Why Cinderella? —a joint post from Betsy, Hayley, and Megan We at Redeemed Reader love a good fairy tale. Cinderella is perhaps the quintessential fairy tale with its rags-to-riches princess, the fairy godmother, and fancy dresses. Indeed, the Cinderella story is one of the most ubiquitous stories worldwide, appearing in nearly every culture for centuries. The 

Continue Reading…

glass slipper

The Glass Slipper by Eleanor Farjeon

The Glass Slipper by Eleanor Farjeon. Viking, 1956. Reading Level: Middle Grades, ages 8-10 Bottom Line: Farjeon’s classic retelling of Cinderella is a fun read and may have inspired Walt Disney himself in the making of the animated Disney version. Every now and then we remind readers of an older, out-of-print title, a niche book 

Continue Reading…

cinder_fotor

Cinderella Read-Alikes for Boys and Girls of All Ages

Cinderella Read-Alikes for Boys and Girls of All Ages A few of our favorite picture books, chapter books, middle grade titles, young adult reads, and some specifically Christian resources that all relate to Cinderella. Not all are strict Cinderella retellings, but all have thematic connections to this famous fairy tale. Some titles may surprise you! 

Continue Reading…

ord princess

*The Ordinary Princess by M. M. Kaye (Retro Reads)

*The Ordinary Princess by M. M. Kaye. Puffin, 2002 (originally published in 1980). 128 pages. Reading Level: Middle Grades, ages 8-10 Bottom Line: Princess Amy, cursed with being ordinary, discovers that she quite likes being ordinary in this charming modern fairy tale. Princess Amethyst Alexandra Augusta Araminta Adelaide Aurelia Anne of Phantasmorania (“Amy” for short) 

Continue Reading…